top of page

Celebrating Success at the Our Lady of Mercy College Athletics Carnival

On Wednesday, 27 April, we celebrated a fantastic day at Hay Park for the Our Lady of Mercy College Athletics Carnival. Students dressed in their House colours of teal, red, yellow, and purple, as well as the vibrant new colours of orange and green for Frayne and Champagnat!

A huge shoutout to our Year 12 students, who brought their A-game, dressed to impress, and embodied the Mercy House Spirit with style!

From shot put to javelin, discuss, jumps, sack races, running and relays, students participated in various activities with enthusiasm and sportsmanship.

We would like to say thank you to:

  • the students for their outstanding participation and performance, there were some amazing performances and records have been broken. New records will need to be verified and awarded at the next College Assembly.

  • the PE Department for their help in setting up, assisting with pre-carnival events and helping with organisation in the lead up.

  • Bunbury Little Athletics for their assistance and the use of their equipment.

  • Student helpers – computer operators and assistants at our field events. Thank you to the BCC Sport & Rec students for their assistance on the day.

  • Staff who helped as officials and with supervision – the carnival couldn’t happen without your help!

  • Mrs Ritchie and her Hospitality students – thank you for catering for the staff today. Thanks also to our canteen staff for providing lunch for our students.

  • Family members and friends for coming along on the day.

  • House Coordinators and Captains for their enthusiasm and leadership.

Congratulations to the following Champions and Runner-Ups:

Year Gender Runner Up Champion

7 Girls Rylee Mcdougall Lexi Piavanini

7 Boys Tawhiri Thompson Aidan Teagle

8 Girls Alexis Reimers Ava Edwards

8 Boys Riley Burt Kai Sheahen

9 Girls Emma Pennefather Brooklyn Matthews

9 Boys Lucas Jacob Ryan Denison

10 Girls Ella Edwards Abbie Dudek

10 Boys Andrew Roney Nic West

11 Girls Charli Stewart CJ Sheahen

11 Boys Cruz McCaugh Caelin Hehir

12 Girls Elijah Hehir Adi Griffith

12 Boys Basil Hart Will York

and a big CONGRATULATIONS to Costello House for clinching the trophy!

Points per House:

  1. Costello (4578)

  2. Hayes (3162)

  3. McAuley (3148)

  4. Frayne (2873)

  5. Champagnat (2577)

  6. Read (2217)