top of page

Our Lady of Mercy College Opening Assembly 2022

On Wednesday, 2 February 2022, Acting Principal, Mrs Viv McKenzie, College Captains, Ethan and Amberley welcomed students, staff and parents back for a new school year at our Opening Assembly. Students gathered in the new Gymnasium building and watched the Year 12 Council of Student Leaders process in with the Mercy Candle, Mercy Cross, College Banners and House Banners.

Ministry Captains Ryley and Jessica introduced the College community to the 2022 Mercy Value of Compassion.

Ryley spoke:

"This year, our College community will be focussing on the value of Compassion.

What does Compassion mean? It is when you relate to someone’s situation, and you want to help them. You see someone in trouble and feel like pitching in.

As Mercy students we show Compassion when we care about the other people around us, we understand how they are feeling, we imagine ourselves in their situation and we act with gentleness and kindness."

Ministry Captain Ryley Wastell.

Three students of the Class of 2021 were welcomed back to the College for the Opening Assembly, and were recognised for their outstanding academic achievements. Jack Cross was presented with the Marian Award for achieving the highest ATAR results in his year. Jack, Xiaomeng Liu and Thomas Zappia were also presented with certificates, as they all achieved an ATAR of 90 or above. We wish them all the best for the future.

Class of 2021 student Jack Cross receives Marian Award shield from Director of Wellbeing and Acting Principal, Mrs Viv McKenzie.

The Year 12 Council of Student Leaders and House Captains were invited onto the stage and were presented with their badges. Congratulations to these students for embracing life and taking on these leadership roles.

Year 12 Council of Student Leaders:

College Captains: Amberley Milne and Ethan Nankivell

College Vice-Captains: Lauren Cronin and Sallyanne Power

Arts Captains: Emily Behrend and Rose Torrisi

Ministry Captains: Jessica Marzano and Ryley Wastell

Sports Captains: Leah York and James Kiely

Costello Captains: Kyla Brophy-Smith and Ashleigh Godwin

Hayes Captains: Grace Lovett and Mia Nandapi

McAuley Captains: Chelyce Wastell and Rennan Dwyer

Read Captains: Isabelle Crump and Nicolas Madaffari

House Captains:


Year 11: Saraya O'Donnell-Fry and Calista Harvey

Year 10: Isabelle Coutts and Allie Rule

Year 9: Bill Batten and Ellise McAlinden

Year 8: Semester 1: Ruben Harberts and Lilly Jauncey

Semester 2: Madden Smith and Zoe Williams


Year 11: Archie Boyle and Clarissa Green

Year 10: Isabella Dallywater and Andrew Summers

Year 9: Leela Baird and Cassidy Fowler

Year 8: Semester 1: John Standley and Emma Yates

Semester 2: Ruiari Tilbrook and Lani Beech


Year 11: Henry King and Charlie McDonald

Year 10: Ruby Forrest and Alain Rodas

Year 9: Ben Pennefather and Rachel Cronin

Year 8: Semester 1: Luke Franks and Tristan Duncan

Semester 2: Sienna Italiano and Ethan Greenhalgh


Year 11: Conlan Bailey and Sophia Tomas

Year 10: Tahlia Napoli and Billy Wardle

Year 9: Finnley Piggot and Kelley Stevens

Year 8: Semester 1: Millie Lunt and Emilio Maddaffari, Semester 2: Aiden Cusack and Brandon Mberi

The new Gymnasium was the perfect venue for celebrating these fantastic student achievements and for presenting new staff, student leaders and house leaders to the College community.


Our Lady of Mercy Stories

Embracing life  |  Nurturing faith  |  Inspiring learning

bottom of page